Imagining Writing Spaces

This assignment was to write about the best and worst places I could think of to write in, here is what my opinion is:

Worst Place: Complete Silence

Sitting in silence waiting for the words to come. Sometimes I think everyone is wrong, this is not the way things should be done. It might work for someone, but to me, it is sheer torture. I stare at the blank screen almost willing the words to show up. There is nothing, not even the sound of the crickets or a crackle from the lamp. I feel as if I am stuck in a vacuum and nothing can reach me in here, not even my own thoughts.

Best Place: Organized Chaos

I’m sitting in a creaky chair, starring at my computer screen. There is the sound of the television in the background and in the distance I can hear the music coming out of my daughter’s phone. The dogs are barking outside because my neighbor is trying to build a new driveway to better reach his herd of cattle, who by the sound of their mooing are not thrilled with the large equipment invading their fields. I feel the words flowing as freely as the water rushing into the washing machine because as a mom, I can never do one thing. My life and my writing are filled with what I like to call, organized chaos. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

